Valkenswaard is a municipality with a rich history and consists of 3 town centres: Borkel en Schaft, Dommelen and Valkenswaard. The municipality owes its name to the prosperous falconry industry in the 17th century. The old name Verkenswedert refers to the pig market in the village.
Valkenswaard dates back to the 13th century. Around 1600 Valkenswaard was the site of a thriving pig market and thus acquired the name 'Verkenswedert'. When the falconers of Valkenswaard gained international acclaim over the following centuries, 'Verkenswedert' was eventually replaced by 'Valckenswaert'. The history of Valkenswaard still shows in the beautiful Weerderhuys, the beautifully restored Saint Nicholas Church, the stately monumental buildings and old falconry houses and small cigar factories.
Borkel & Schaft
Around 1340-1350 Borkel was part of the village of Eersel. From 1468 onwards it belonged to the municipality of Bergeijk, and from 1810 the hamlets of Borkel and Schaft were merged. Borkel en Schaft has been part of the municipality of Valkenswaard since 1 May 1934.
The church village of Borkel en Schaft feels like being in an open-air museum of the Kempen area. In addition to the St. Antonius Abbot corn mill, the village also features characteristic long-gabled farmhouses off cobblestone roads and the outdoor cafés on the picturesque Mgr. Kuijpersplein near St. Servatius Church are a great place to relax.
Until 1934, Dommelen was an independent municipality.
The Dommelsch Beer Brewery in this church village has been brewing beer since 1744, and from 1825 operates from local pub De Oranjeboom.
Dommelen takes its name from the Dommel river, on the banks of which stands the beautiful and monumental Dommelsche Water Mill.
The Saint Martin Church is also well worth a visit. And ‘shopping heart’ De Belleman is the place for all your shopping, as well as for a snack or a drink.